Young Property Lawyers Forum 2012

Posted by on 4 December 2012 in Uncategorized | No Comments
Young Property Lawyers Forum 2012

The third Young Property Lawyers Forum (YPLF) was hosted by the South African Research Chair in Property Law (SARCPL) (situated at Stellenbosch University), from Sunday 28th until Tuesday 30th October 2012 at the Stellenbosch Institute for Advanced Study (STIAS). The third YPLF was hosted by the SARCPL as part of the Research Chair’s celebration of its 5th anniversary in 2012.

The YPLF is an initiative of young property researchers from the Ius Commune universities (Amsterdam, Utrecht, Maastricht, Leuven, Edinburgh and Stellenbosch). The first forum was held in 2010 at Edinburgh University and the second in 2011 at Maastricht University. Since 2011 the proceedings of these meetings have been published as Property Law Perspectives. The main purpose of the YPLF is to provide an opportunity for young researchers to present their research, as well as to receive comments from peers and experts in the field of property law and to engage with the international network of young property scholars. It was the first time that the YPLF took place outside of Europe and it is also the first time that such a large number of young property law scholars attended a single event.

The young property lawyers attending the event were all young people currently doing masters’ or doctoral research in property law, or persons who obtained one of these degrees in this field of law in the past 5 years. The 2012 proceedings was attended by more than 50 young property law researchers from South Africa, the United Kingdom, the United States, the Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, Italy and Israel. It was also attended by 18 senior property law scholars from South Africa, the United States, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Belgium, Poland and Australia.

The YPLF was followed by a Master Class on Wednesday, 31 October, where 11 senior property scholars from over the world gave presentations on their latest research. The senior scholars who attended the YPLF and presented the Master Class include Professors Kevin Gray (Dean of Trinity College, Cambridge); Sjef van Erp (Maastricht University); Vincent Sagaert (University of Antwerp and University of Leuven); Susan Bright (New College, Oxford); Brendan Edgeworth (Dean of the Law School, University of New South Wales); Kenneth Reid (Research Chair in Scots Law, Edinburgh University); and Joseph Singer (Harvard Law School).


Leave a Reply